Resource Key

When accessing content use the numbers below to guide you:

LEVEL 1

brief, basic information laid out in an easy-to-read format. May use informal language. (Includes most news articles)

LEVEL 2

provides additional background information and further reading. Introduces some subject-specific language.

LEVEL 3

lengthy, detailed information. Frequently uses technical/subject-specific language. (Includes most analytical articles)

Linked Databases

JSTOR
Scholarly resources on JSTOR include Archival and Current Journals, Books, and Primary Sources.
World Book Encyclopedia
Online version of the complete reference work along with dictionary, atlas, links, magazines, historical documents, audio, video, images, and 3D photograph
Britannica Schools
Britannica School covers the core subject areas of English, Maths, Science and History. Interactive lessons, activities, games, stories, worksheets, manipulatives, study guides and research tools.
Informit Explore
Informit Explore helps you find reliable Australian articles and research easily.

Separation of Powers

Separation of powers, division of the legislative, executive, and judicial functions of government among separate and independent bodies. Such a separation, it has been argued, limits the possibility of arbitrary excesses by government, since the sanction of all three branches is required for the making, executing, and administering of laws.

Retrieved from: Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). separation of powers. Britannica School. Retrieved November 13, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/separation-of-powers/61137

Separation of Powers - Britannica
Retrieved from: Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). separation of powers. Britannica School. Retrieved November 13, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/separation-of-powers/61137
Separation of Powers - Rule of Law Organisation
Retrieved from: Rule of law education centre. (n.d.). Separation of Powers. Rule of Law Education Centre. https://www.ruleoflaw.org.au/principles/separation-of-powers/

more... less...

The separation of powers is a concept that requires that the arms of government act as checks and balances on each other’s power.
It is the ultimate protection of human rights as it ensures that it is the law that rules, rather than an arbitrary ruler, with an independent judiciary to determine people’s rights and obligations under the law.

Australian tripartite system of government:

Retrieved from: Australia government system. (2025, November 13). ChatGPT. https://chatgpt.com/s/t_6915771e8e8c8191a4243e6aff133b71

Retrieved from: Parliamentary Education Office. (2024, July 19). Separation of powers: Parliament, Executive and Judiciary . Peo.gov.au; Parliamentary Education Office. https://peo.gov.au/understand-our-parliament/how-parliament-works/system-of-government/separation-of-powers-parliament-executive-and-judiciary

Retrieved from: The Separation of Powers in Australia Explained. (n.d.). Www.youtube.com. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1E1H6b5JqQ

Retrieved from: That's Pretty Cool. (2023, June 16). How does government in Australia work? The Three Levels of Government. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_sIBkahTR9M

Retrieved from: Inside Australia’s House of Representatives | Nine News Australia. (2019). [YouTube Video]. In YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbK1_OYFkuI

Checks and Balances

Checks and balances, principle of government under which separate branches are empowered to prevent actions by other branches and are induced to share power. Checks and balances are applied primarily in constitutional governments. They are of fundamental importance in tripartite governments, such as that of the United States (and Australia), which separate powers among legislative, executive, and judicial branches.

Retrieved from: Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). checks and balances. Britannica School. Retrieved November 13, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/checks-and-balances/22736

Checks and Balances - Britannica
Retrieved from: Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). checks and balances. Britannica School. Retrieved November 13, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/checks-and-balances/22736
Checks and Balances - Rule of Law Organisation
Retrieved from: Rule of Law Education Centre. (2016). Checks and Balances. Australia’s Magna Carta Institute - Rule of Law Education. https://www.ruleoflaw.org.au/priorities/checks-and-balances/

more... less...

Checks and balances are multiple mechanisms, often overlapping that limit or stop one person or group of people from becoming too powerful and exceeding their specific powers.

Retrieved from: Checks and Balances on Government Power. (n.d.). Www.youtube.com. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=80abcLusFZg

Retrieved from: What Would Happen Without Checks and Balances? (n.d.). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zYY0m_BHtc

Rule of Law

Rule of law, the mechanism, process, institution, practice, or norm that supports the equality of all citizens before the law, secures a non-arbitrary form of government, and more generally prevents the arbitrary use of power. Arbitrariness is typical of various forms of despotism, absolutism, authoritarianism, and totalitarianism.

Retrieved from: Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). rule of law. Britannica School. Retrieved November 13, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/rule-of-law/603027

Rule of Law - Britannica
Retrieved from: Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). rule of law. Britannica School. Retrieved November 13, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/rule-of-law/603027
Rule of Law - Informit
Retrieved from: Informit. (2024). Rule of law. Informit Explore Essay Topics, July 2024, 1, 1. https://search.informit.org/doi/10.3316/informit.
T2024072600022200757736126

more... less...

The rule of law is a fundamental principle within Australian and New Zealand’s democratic and legal systems. At its core, the rule of law is the idea that both the government and citizens know and obey the law – no one is above it.
What is the Rule of Law? - Rule of Law Organisation Australia
Retrieved from: Rule of Law Education Centre. (2016). What is the Rule of Law? Rule of Law Institute of Australia; Rule of Law Education Centre. https://www.ruleoflaw.org.au/what-is-the-rule-of-law/
Rule of Law - Parliamentary Education Office
Retrieved from: Parliamentary Education Office. (2023). Rule of law. Parliamentary Education Office. https://peo.gov.au/understand-our-parliament/how-parliament-works/system-of-government/rule-of-law

more... less...

The rule of law is a key feature of Australia’s democracy and legal system. This fact sheet explains the principle of the rule of law and its relationship to the separation of powers.
The Rule of Law; Its State of Health in Australia - University of Sydney
Retrieved from: Hon, T., & Lindgren, K. (n.d.). The Rule of Law: its State of Health in Australia. https://www.ruleoflaw.org.au/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/Lindgren-Rule-of-Law-Its-State-of-Health-in-Australia-2012.pdf

‌

Retrieved from: Rule. (2021). Magna Carta: The Foundation of the rule of law. In YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuPRCV1RtZM

The Rule of Law Wheel is a visual tool to explain the key principles that underpin a society governed by the rule of law. It breaks down complex legal ideas into four clear layers and helps students and the public understand how these elements work together to protect rights, limit power, and uphold justice.

Retrieved from: Rule of Law Education Centre. (2016). What is the Rule of Law? Rule of Law Institute of Australia; Rule of Law Education Centre. https://www.ruleoflaw.org.au/what-is-the-rule-of-law/

‌

Principles of the Rule of Law

Rule of law - Attorney General's Department
Retrieved from: Australian Government. (2020, October 23). Rule of law. Attorney-General’s Department. https://www.ag.gov.au/about-us/what-we-do/rule-law
Principles of the Rule of Law - Rule of Law Education Centre
Retrieved from: Rule Of Law Education centre. (2016). Principles - Rule of Law Institute of Australia. Rule of Law Institute of Australia. https://www.ruleoflaw.org.au/principles/
Fair Trial: Its Purpose - Rule of Law Education Centre
Retrieved from: Fair Trial | Informed. (2025). Ruleoflaw.org.au. https://informed.ruleoflaw.org.au/fair-trial/
Fair and Prompt Trials - Rule of Law Education Centre
Retrieved from: Rule of Law Education Centre. (2023). Fair and Prompt Trial. Rule of Law Education Centre. https://www.ruleoflaw.org.au/principles/fair-and-prompt-trial/
Equality before the Law - Rule of Law Education Centre
Retrieved from: Rule of Law Education Centre. (n.d.). Equality Before the Law. Rule of Law Education Centre. https://www.ruleoflaw.org.au/principles/equality-before-the-law/
Access to justice is essential infrastructure not a privilege - Law Council of Australia
Retrieved from: Access to justice is essential infrastructure not a privilege. (2025, November 10). Lawcouncil.au. https://lawcouncil.au/media/media-releases/access-to-justice-is-essential-infrastructure-not-a-privilege
Right to security of the person and freedom from arbitrary detention - Attorney General's Department
Retrieved from: Australian Government. (2025). Right to security of the person and freedom from arbitrary detention. Attorney-General’s Department. https://www.ag.gov.au/rights-and-protections/human-rights-and-anti-discrimination/human-rights-scrutiny/public-sector-guidance-sheets/right-security-person-and-freedom-arbitrary-detention
Access to Justice - Attorney General's Department
Retrieved from: Attorney-General's Department. (2016). Access to justice. Attorney-General’s Department. https://www.ag.gov.au/legal-system/access-justice
Human rights and anti-discrimination - Attorney General's Department
Retrieved from: Australian Government. (n.d.). Human rights and anti-discrimination. Attorney-General’s Department. https://www.ag.gov.au/rights-and-protections/human-rights-and-anti-discrimination

Glossary

Retrieved from: Dictionary.com. (2025). Dictionary.com. https://www.dictionary.com/

Parliamentary Glossary
Retrieved from: Glossary - Parliamentary Education Office. (2024). Peo.gov.au. https://peo.gov.au/understand-our-parliament/glossary#A
Glossary of Constitutional Terms
Retrieved from: Glossary of constitutional terms. (n.d.). Referendum 2023. https://civicsaustralia.org.au/glossary-of-constitutional-terms/
Democracy in Australia - Glossary
Retrieved from: Glossary. (2021). In Democracy in Australia. The Spinney Press. https://search.informit.org/doi/10.3316/informit.T2024043000032000486855303