Poseidon
Facts Net. (2021, June 1). Facts About Poseidon, God of the Sea | Greek Mythology And Fiction Explained. [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8dORZUhQtQ
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Poseidon. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Poseidon/61019
Poseidon, in ancient Greek religion, god of the sea (and of water generally), earthquakes, and horses. He is distinguished from Pontus, the personification of the sea and the oldest Greek divinity of the waters. The name Poseidon means either “husband of the earth” or “lord of the earth.” Traditionally, he was a son of Cronus (the youngest of the 12 Titans) and of Cronus’s sister and consort Rhea, a fertility goddess. Poseidon was a brother of Zeus, the sky god and chief deity of ancient Greece, and of Hades, god of the underworld.
Hera
World History Encyclopedia. (2022, June 18). The Greek Goddess Hera, Queen of the Olympian Gods [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMTJ14MiGxs
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Hera. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Hera/40087
Zeus, in ancient Greek religion, chief deity of the pantheon, a sky and weather god who was identical with the Roman god Jupiter. His name may be related to that of the sky god Dyaus of the ancient Hindu Rigveda. Zeus was regarded as the sender of thunder and lightning, rain, and winds, and his traditional weapon was the thunderbolt. He was called the father (i.e., the ruler and protector) of both gods and men
Artemis
World History Encyclopedia. (2021, April 27). Greek Goddess Artemis: Goddess of the Hunt and the Moon in Greek Mythology [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blZwd9Wx9bI
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Artemis. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Artemis/9679
Artemis, in Greek religion, the goddess of wild animals, the hunt, and vegetation and of chastity and childbirth; she was identified by the Romans with Diana. Artemis was the daughter of Zeus and Leto and the twin sister of Apollo. Among the rural populace, Artemis was the favorite goddess. Her character and function varied greatly from place to place, but, apparently, behind all forms lay the goddess of wild nature, who danced, usually accompanied by nymphs, in mountains, forests, and marshes.
Hermes
World History Encyclopedia. (2021, April 2). Hermes: Greek God, Trickster and Messenger to the Gods [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlcqiJu6S9o
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Hermes. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Hermes/40160
Hermes, Greek god, son of Zeus and the Pleiad Maia; often identified with the Roman Mercury and with Casmilus or Cadmilus, one of the Cabeiri. His name is probably derived from herma (see herm), the Greek word for a heap of stones, such as was used in the country to indicate boundaries or as a landmark. The earliest centre of his cult was probably Arcadia, where Mt. Cyllene was reputed to be his birthplace. There he was especially worshipped as the god of fertility, and his images were ithyphallic.
Demeter
World History Encylopedia. (2022, October 22). The Greek Goddess Demeter and the Eleusinian Mysteries [Video]. Youtube.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-B6KwxHcR0&t=3s
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Demeter. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Demeter/29879
Demeter in Greek religion, daughter of the deities Cronus and Rhea, sister and consort of Zeus (the king of the gods), and goddess of agriculture. Her name indicates that she is a mother
Athena
World History Encyclopedia. (2022, May 24). Athena the Greek Goddess of Wisdom, War and the Crafts [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-KQ6NnlgfA
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Athena. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Athena/10063
Athena, also spelled Athene, in Greek religion, the city protectress, goddess of war, handicraft, and practical reason, identified by the Romans with Minerva. She was essentially urban and civilized, the antithesis in many respects of Artemis, goddess of the outdoors. Athena was probably a pre-Hellenic goddess and was later taken over by the Greeks. Yet the Greek economy, unlike that of the Minoans, was largely military, so that Athena, while retaining her earlier domestic functions, became a goddess of war.
Ares
World History Encyclopedia. (2022, February 15) Ares the God of War in Greek Mythology. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaGHa0G41VA [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaGHa0G41VA
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Ares. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Ares/9344
Ares, in Greek religion, god of war or, more properly, the spirit of battle. Unlike his Roman counterpart, Mars, he was never very popular, and his worship was not extensive in Greece. He represented the distasteful aspects of brutal warfare and slaughter. From at least the time of Homer—who established him as the son of the chief god, Zeus, and Hera, his consort—Ares was one of the Olympian deities; his fellow gods and even his parents, however, were not fond of him (Iliad, Book V, 889 ff.).
Hephaestus
World History Encyclopedia. Hephaestus the Greek God of Fire and Metallurgy [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tghA2GqO5is
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Hephaestus. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Hephaestus/40080
Hephaestus, Greek Hephaistos, in Greek mythology, the god of fire. Originally a deity of Asia Minor and the adjoining islands (in particular Lemnos), Hephaestus had an important place of worship at the Lycian Olympus. His cult reached Athens not later than about 600 bce (although it scarcely touched Greece proper) and arrived in Campania not long afterward. His Roman counterpart was Vulcan.
Zeus
World History Encyclopedia. (2022, December 3). Zeus, God of the Sky and King of the Olympian Gods [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__Zoe2vCoXk
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Zeus. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Zeus/78345
Zeus, in ancient Greek religion, chief deity of the pantheon, a sky and weather god who was identical with the Roman god Jupiter. His name may be related to that of the sky god Dyaus of the ancient Hindu Rigveda. Zeus was regarded as the sender of thunder and lightning, rain, and winds, and his traditional weapon was the thunderbolt. He was called the father (i.e., the ruler and protector) of both gods and men.
Apollo
World History Encyclopedia. (2021, August 3). The Greek God Apollo: The Myths of the Olympian God of Music, Medicine, the Sun and Archery [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nntvIYtSY78
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Apollo. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Apollo/8018
Apollo, byname Phoebus, in Greco-Roman mythology, a deity of manifold function and meaning, one of the most widely revered and influential of all the ancient Greek and Roman gods. Though his original nature is obscure, from the time of Homer onward he was the god of divine distance, who sent or threatened from afar; the god who made men aware of their own guilt and purified them of it; who presided over religious law and the constitutions of cities; and who communicated with mortals through prophets and oracles his knowledge of the future and the will of his father, Zeus (Roman: Jupiter). Even the gods feared him, and only his father and his mother, Leto (Roman: Latona), could easily endure his presence. He was also a god of crops and herds, primarily as a divine bulwark against wild animals and disease, as his Greek epithet Alexikakos (Averter of Evil) indicates.
Aphrodite
World History Encyclopedia. (2022, October 11). Aphrodite the Goddess of Love and Beauty in Greek Mythology [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMlOoot4dBU
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Aphrodite. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Aphrodite/8000
Aphrodite, ancient Greek goddess of sexual love and beauty, identified with Venus by the Romans. The Greek word aphros means “foam,” and Hesiod relates in his Theogony that Aphrodite was born from the white foam produced by the severed genitals of Uranus (Heaven), after his son Cronus threw them into the sea. Aphrodite was, in fact, widely worshipped as a goddess of the sea and of seafaring; she was also honoured as a goddess of war, especially at Sparta, Thebes, Cyprus, and other places.
Hestia
World History Encyclopedia. ( 2022, December 10). Hestia the Greek Goddess of the Hearth and Home [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcYnYN-gTbo
-
Encyclopædia Britannica. (n.d.). Hestia. Britannica School. Retrieved March 22, 2025, from https://school-eb-com-au.db.scotch.wa.edu.au/levels/high/article/Hestia/40294
Hestia, in Greek religion, goddess of the hearth, daughter of Cronus and Rhea, and one of the 12 Olympian deities. When the gods Apollo and Poseidon became suitors for her hand she swore to remain a maiden forever, whereupon Zeus, the king of the gods, bestowed upon her the honour of presiding over all sacrifices.